Defensive Driving

6 hours course

Need to take a class soon? Not sure what course you need to take.  Below are full descriptions of the courses we offer.  If you have additional questions, feel free to give us a call at 678-526-5335.

WHAT IS A DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSE?

The defensive driving course is designed to teach Georgia drivers how to drive safely and responsibly by reviewing the basic rules of the road, while covering many important Georgia highway & safety laws.  The 6-hour Defensive Driving Course is certified by Georgia’s Department of Driver Services and is a requirement of Georgia courts.

Reasons to Take a Defensive Driving Class:

  • Insurance Premium Discount
  • Point reduction
  • Court ordered
  • Suspensions & Reinstatement
  • Ticket dismissal

INSURANCE PREMIUM DISCOUNT

Individuals 25 years of age or older, who have a clean driving record for the previous 3 years and take the 6 hour program shall be eligible, pursuant to O.C.G.A. 33-9-42, to obtain not less than a 10% to 15%  discount on their automobile insurance premium.  This discount is valid for the next 3 years.  Often couples, who are the 2 named drivers on an insurance policy, will take this program together to qualify for the joint insurance discount.

POINT REDUCTION

Under another Georgia law, drivers may take the 6 hour course, once every 5 years, and reduce up to 7 points off their driving record.  The Department of Motor Vehicle Safety will often notify a driver of the availability of this program, prior to accumulating enough points to lose their drivers license.

SUSPENSIONS & REINSTATEMENT

If a Georgia driver accumulates 15 points within 24 months, the Department of Driver Services will suspend their driving privileges until the completion of the 6 hour program.  If a licensed driver accumulates 15 points within 24 months for a second time, within a 5 year period, then the completion of the same 6 hour program is required.

TICKET DISMISSAL/ TICKET REDUCTION

Many judges in the state of Georgia will dismiss a ticket for a moving violation if the offender completes the 6 hour defensive driving course.  If approved by a judge, the dismissed ticker will not reflect on the drivers record with the state.  If the ticket is not dismissed, the court may allow an offender to complete the course for a reduction of 20% and no points on the drivers license record.

- Call 678-526-5335 or Click Here To Register Online Now

 

Contact Us Today!

2093 Rock Chapel Rd
Lithonia, GA 30058
1-(678)-526-5335 or 678-956-5080 After Hours
info@duianddefensivedriving.com

or Register Here!

Follow Us!